DPI Logo

DPI Logo

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Who can teach middle school algebra for high school credit?

The class must be taught by a teacher who is licensed to teach the subject in the high school grades. This means the teacher’s content area license must include the grade or developmental level for high school (e.g., early adolescence to adolescence, early childhood to adolescence, grades 6-12, grades 7-12). Prior to the implementation of PI 34, there were licenses in a specific content area issued where the teacher could teach through grade 9 (e.g., grades 1-9, 5-9, 6-9 or 7-9).  Teachers who hold one of these licenses can teach 9th grade curriculum for high school credit to pupils in grades 7 and 8 in their specific content area. Please note: a teacher who only holds a regular/elementary education license in grades 1-8 or at the middle childhood to early adolescence (MC-EA) level does not hold the appropriate license to teach high school curriculum to students in grades 7-8.  Also, there no longer is an option to add a specific license in grades 1-9. These teachers would need to return to an approved program to seek a content license at the early adolescence to adolescence level.

No comments:

Post a Comment